Welcome!

Welcome to Satlover forums, full of great people, ideas and excitement.

Please register if you would like to take part. link..

Register Now

Alert: Don't Use Hotmail Email Accounts for registration

Collapse

Before Access to all Forums and Trial accounts you must need to activate your account Email address

Need check script for NO-IP client

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • SatWaveDude
    Board Senior Member
    • Apr 2012
    • 220

    Need check script for NO-IP client

    Hi,

    I found out that my NO-IP client sometimes does not update/stopped.

    Do some of you have a script that checks if the client is still running and if not automatic restart the client?

    I need this very badly and have not the Linux skills to do this on my own.

    The OS is Debian 6.0.5
    SatWaveDude

    DM500HD, DM500+ | EMP S16/1PCP-W3 | WaveFrontier T90 | 16x SMART Titanium 0.1dB LNB's
    TechniSat SkyStar S2 PCI / SkyStar USB HD
    WaveFrontier T90 rev.2 - 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 3.3E | 4/5E | 0.8W | 7/8W | 12.5W

    If you find my post usefull please press the Thanks Button
  • gianni253
    Experienced Board Member
    • Nov 2012
    • 903

    #2
    Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

    Missed updates of ddns may be connected to many reasons and only one of it (but quite rare) is that process is dead.
    To troubleshoot your problem we need some clues:
    - is the client inadyn, a script or what else ?
    - if you have a log of the ddns client, post here.

    Comment

    • SatWaveDude
      Board Senior Member
      • Apr 2012
      • 220

      #3
      Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

      After a reboot the client is working fine again.

      I do not have any log, where do I find it?

      This is how I installed the client:

      Code:
      1. cd /usr/local/src
      2. wget http://www.no-ip.com/client/linux/noip-duc-linux.tar.gz
      3. tar xzf noip-duc-linux.tar.gz
      4. dir (than there you see the actual version as dir)
      5. cd no-ip-2.1.9-1
      6. make
      7. make install
      To configure do this:

      Code:
      ./usr/local/bin/noip2 -C
      Then lunch it with:

      Code:
      ./usr/local/bin/noip2
      SatWaveDude

      DM500HD, DM500+ | EMP S16/1PCP-W3 | WaveFrontier T90 | 16x SMART Titanium 0.1dB LNB's
      TechniSat SkyStar S2 PCI / SkyStar USB HD
      WaveFrontier T90 rev.2 - 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 3.3E | 4/5E | 0.8W | 7/8W | 12.5W

      If you find my post usefull please press the Thanks Button

      Comment

      • gianni253
        Experienced Board Member
        • Nov 2012
        • 903

        #4
        Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

        I took a look to the package and found out that to put the script in debug mode it must be invoked with the following command:
        Code:
        ./usr/local/bin/noip2 -d
        You should see errors and messages on stderr but, if you want to log them into a file, the readme states to invoke the startup script with the name of the log file (ex. 'script noip2.log').

        A trace log is absolutely necessary to understand what's going on.

        Comment

        • SatWaveDude
          Board Senior Member
          • Apr 2012
          • 220

          #5
          Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

          I was looking here _http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/lucid/man8/noip2.8.html

          Can not find exactly how to create the log file.

          First I was thinking that I could use this code:

          Code:
          ./usr/local/bin/noip2 -d /usr/local/bin/noip2.log
          But that does not work!

          Any suggestions?

          Ps. how do you stop noip2 client, wich command do I have to use?
          Code:
          service noip2 stop
          noip2: unrecognized service
          SatWaveDude

          DM500HD, DM500+ | EMP S16/1PCP-W3 | WaveFrontier T90 | 16x SMART Titanium 0.1dB LNB's
          TechniSat SkyStar S2 PCI / SkyStar USB HD
          WaveFrontier T90 rev.2 - 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 3.3E | 4/5E | 0.8W | 7/8W | 12.5W

          If you find my post usefull please press the Thanks Button

          Comment

          • gianni253
            Experienced Board Member
            • Nov 2012
            • 903

            #6
            Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

            Originally posted by SatWaveDude
            I was looking here _http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/lucid/man8/noip2.8.html

            Can not find exactly how to create the log file.

            First I was thinking that I could use this code:

            Code:
            ./usr/local/bin/noip2 -d /usr/local/bin/noip2.log
            But that does not work!

            Any suggestions?
            First try with
            Code:
            ./usr/local/bin/noip2 -d
            If it displays something on the screen then you can redirect it into a file:

            Code:
            ./usr/local/bin/noip2 -d > /tmp/noip2.log
            Originally posted by SatWaveDude
            Ps. how do you stop noip2 client, wich command do I have to use?
            Code:
            service noip2 stop
            noip2: unrecognized service
            First check the name of your process:
            Code:
            ps
            Then, if it's name is "noip2" (as it should be), use
            Code:
            killall -9 noip2
            Again
            Code:
            ps
            to check if process has disappeared.

            Comment

            • SatWaveDude
              Board Senior Member
              • Apr 2012
              • 220

              #7
              Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

              The command PS give results:

              Code:
                PID TTY          TIME CMD
              13591 pts/1    00:00:01 bash
              13637 pts/1    00:00:00 su
              13644 pts/1    00:00:00 bash
              15773 pts/1    00:00:00 ps
              The command PSTREE give results:

              Code:
              init─┬─CCcam.x86───4*[{CCcam.x86}]
                   ├─acpid
                   ├─apache2───6*[apache2]
                   ├─atd
                   ├─console-kit-dae───63*[{console-kit-da}]
                   ├─cron
                   ├─dbus-daemon
                   ├─dhclient
                   ├─exim4
                   ├─6*[getty]
                   ├─hald─┬─hald-runner─┬─hald-addon-acpi
                   │      │             └─hald-addon-inpu
                   │      └─{hald}
                   ├─noip2
                   ├─oscam───oscam───16*[{oscam}]
                   ├─pcscd───{pcscd}
                   ├─portmap
                   ├─rpc.statd
                   ├─rsyslogd───2*[{rsyslogd}]
                   ├─sshd───sshd───bash───su───bash───pstree
                   ├─startpar
                   ├─udevd───2*[udevd]
                   └─vsftpd
              I try killall -9 noip2 and ./usr/local/bin/noip2 -d > /tmp/noip2.log and this is the result on the screen:

              Code:
              # killall -9 noip2
              # ./usr/local/bin/noip2 -d > /tmp/noip2.log
              # Recovering dead process 17986 shmem slot
              > GET http://ip1.dynupdate.no-ip.com/ HTTP/1.0
              > User-Agent: Linux-DUC/2.1.9
              It seems that the noip2.log in /tmp/ stays empty although the client update is set to 15 minutes and it is runnung for shure.
              SatWaveDude

              DM500HD, DM500+ | EMP S16/1PCP-W3 | WaveFrontier T90 | 16x SMART Titanium 0.1dB LNB's
              TechniSat SkyStar S2 PCI / SkyStar USB HD
              WaveFrontier T90 rev.2 - 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 3.3E | 4/5E | 0.8W | 7/8W | 12.5W

              If you find my post usefull please press the Thanks Button

              Comment

              • gianni253
                Experienced Board Member
                • Nov 2012
                • 903

                #8
                Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

                So now we know for sure that process name is "noip2" and that you can successfully kill it with "killall -9 noip2".

                About logging, forget redirection to the file, and simply type "./usr/local/bin/noip2 -d".
                You should see all debug info on your screen.

                By the way, your log start was ok ...

                > GET _http://ip1.dynupdate.no-ip.com HTTP/1.0
                > User-Agent: Linux-DUC/2.1.9

                but after that you should also see:

                < HTTP/1.1 200 OK
                < Date: .....
                < Server: ....
                < Connection: close
                < Content-Type: text/html
                <
                < **.***.***.***
                ! Our NAT IP address is **.***.***.***
                ! Last_IP_Addr = **.***.***.***, IP = **.***.***.***

                Comment

                • SatWaveDude
                  Board Senior Member
                  • Apr 2012
                  • 220

                  #9
                  Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

                  Okay, it does run thats for shure but these I do not see:


                  Code:
                  < HTTP/1.1 200 OK
                  < Date: .....
                  < Server: ....
                  < Connection: close
                  < Content-Type: text/html
                  <
                  < **.***.***.***
                  ! Our NAT IP address is **.***.***.***
                  ! Last_IP_Addr = **.***.***.***, IP = **.***.***.***
                  Mabe a De-install & Re-install would help dont you think?
                  Dont now what I can de else
                  SatWaveDude

                  DM500HD, DM500+ | EMP S16/1PCP-W3 | WaveFrontier T90 | 16x SMART Titanium 0.1dB LNB's
                  TechniSat SkyStar S2 PCI / SkyStar USB HD
                  WaveFrontier T90 rev.2 - 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 3.3E | 4/5E | 0.8W | 7/8W | 12.5W

                  If you find my post usefull please press the Thanks Button

                  Comment

                  • gianni253
                    Experienced Board Member
                    • Nov 2012
                    • 903

                    #10
                    Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

                    Yes, the problem is that the program doesn't get any answer from the server, and we have no other clues ...
                    I wouldn't be stuck with this noip2 and would try another ddns client, such as inadyn, which works very well with no-ip too.

                    Comment

                    • SatWaveDude
                      Board Senior Member
                      • Apr 2012
                      • 220

                      #11
                      Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

                      I'm gonna try NOIP2 once again before I switch to inadyn.
                      It was working very well in the past on another PC and also Debian OS.

                      In wich directory do I have to go for best when I'm gonna re-install noip2.
                      I mean when I give the command apt-get install noip2 in what derectoy do I have to be in?
                      SatWaveDude

                      DM500HD, DM500+ | EMP S16/1PCP-W3 | WaveFrontier T90 | 16x SMART Titanium 0.1dB LNB's
                      TechniSat SkyStar S2 PCI / SkyStar USB HD
                      WaveFrontier T90 rev.2 - 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 3.3E | 4/5E | 0.8W | 7/8W | 12.5W

                      If you find my post usefull please press the Thanks Button

                      Comment

                      • gianni253
                        Experienced Board Member
                        • Nov 2012
                        • 903

                        #12
                        Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

                        Originally posted by SatWaveDude
                        In wich directory do I have to go for best when I'm gonna re-install noip2.
                        I mean when I give the command apt-get install noip2 in what derectoy do I have to be in?
                        It doesn't matter, but be sure to be logged as root.

                        Comment

                        • SatWaveDude
                          Board Senior Member
                          • Apr 2012
                          • 220

                          #13
                          Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

                          I'm logged in as root and even type "su" before I install anything.

                          But in the mean time noip2 seems to register new IP's as it have to
                          SatWaveDude

                          DM500HD, DM500+ | EMP S16/1PCP-W3 | WaveFrontier T90 | 16x SMART Titanium 0.1dB LNB's
                          TechniSat SkyStar S2 PCI / SkyStar USB HD
                          WaveFrontier T90 rev.2 - 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 3.3E | 4/5E | 0.8W | 7/8W | 12.5W

                          If you find my post usefull please press the Thanks Button

                          Comment

                          • gianni253
                            Experienced Board Member
                            • Nov 2012
                            • 903

                            #14
                            Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

                            Originally posted by SatWaveDude
                            But in the mean time noip2 seems to register new IP's as it have to
                            Good, but I wouldn't trust this erratic behavior ...
                            Also trace debugging seems so muddled ... maybe it was a no-ip server error, but what has failed once, expect it can fail again in the future.

                            Comment

                            • SatWaveDude
                              Board Senior Member
                              • Apr 2012
                              • 220

                              #15
                              Re: Need check script for NO-IP client

                              @gianni253

                              Do you now how I can let auto start noip2 client every time my system reboots?
                              SatWaveDude

                              DM500HD, DM500+ | EMP S16/1PCP-W3 | WaveFrontier T90 | 16x SMART Titanium 0.1dB LNB's
                              TechniSat SkyStar S2 PCI / SkyStar USB HD
                              WaveFrontier T90 rev.2 - 28.2E | 23.5E | 19.2E | 16E | 13E | 10/9E | 3.3E | 4/5E | 0.8W | 7/8W | 12.5W

                              If you find my post usefull please press the Thanks Button

                              Comment

                              Working...